Home › Nakagyo (Kawaramachi / Shijo) › Owl cafe
Kyoto Owl Forest
京都のフクロウの森
Nakagyo, Kyoto
✓ Confirmed still in business(checked Oct 29, 2026)Details from the official website
We only show photos provided by the cafe.
The cafe’s Instagram
A public post from the cafe’s official account, shown with Instagram’s embed feature (no images are stored on this site).
Before you go
- Reservation
- Not needed (walk-in)No reservations (same-day tickets sold at the shop)How booking works at Japanese animal cafés →
- Age
- Ages 5 and up (ages 0–4 not admitted, even with a parent/guardian). Ages 5–12 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian
- Last entry
- Varies by day — see the hours below
- Payment
- Not stated on the official siteCash, cards and what to bring →
- English
- Not stated on the official site
- Bringing items
- No outside food, drinks or animal toys
Questions about this cafe
Do I need a reservation at Kyoto Owl Forest?
How much does Kyoto Owl Forest cost?
Can children visit Kyoto Owl Forest?
What is the last entry time?
Can I bring food or drinks?
Any other house rules?
6 answers, all taken from the official website. Questions it does not answer are not shown.
Basics
- Address
- 京都府京都市中京区新京極通四条上る中之町Japanese address — copy it into a maps app or show it to a taxi driver.
- Access
- —
- Animals
- Owls (snowy owls, barn owls, great grey owls, etc.)
- Official site
- owls-cats-forest.com
- Phone
- 075-708-3847
Prices
- Price
- ¥1,000 (ages 5 and up). ¥100 off with a receipt from a sister shop or a student ID
Opening hours
- Mon–Fri
- 12:00–18:00 (last entry 17:30)
- Sat–Sun
- 11:30–18:30 (last entry 18:00)
Read from the hours on the official website (Japan time). Hours can change — check the official site before you go.
Moved to the current location, 1 min walk away, in July 2026. Hours may change
Also listed in
Registry check
- First registered
- Jun 14, 2026
- Registration valid until
- —
- Registered name
- 京都のフクロウの森
- Online booking
- Not confirmed
Update history
- 2026-10-29Opening status checked (regular check)
- 2026-10-14Prices and hours copied from the official website
- 2026-07-31Existence verified in the register (Type 1 Animal Handling Business — exhibition)
Source: Kyoto City register of Type 1 Animal Handling Businesses (as of Jul 31, 2026), CC BY 4.0; edited by Fureai Japan. Register entries reflect their reference date and are not guaranteed to be current. “Registry-verified” is this site’s own check against the register, not a recommendation, certification or guarantee by Kyoto City. Opening status is checked every other day. We do not show the names of applicants or representatives. Prices and hours are copied from the official website and may have changed; English text is our translation.