Home › Guides
Do you need a reservation? How booking works at Japanese animal cafés
Published 21 October 2026 · Counts as of 21 October 2026 (258 cafés with details copied from their official websites)
Based on the official websites of the 258 cafés with details on Fureai Japan, as of 21 October 2026. We do not rate cafés.
The short answer
Most animal cafés in Japan let you walk in, but a good number — especially small dog cafés, mini-pig cafés and cafés with one animal room — take reservations only. Of the 258 cafés whose official site we have copied:
| What the café says | Cafés |
|---|---|
| No reservation needed (walk-in, first come first served) | 74 |
| Reservation required | 37 |
| Reservation recommended (walk-ins when there is space) | 29 |
| Online or phone booking available, not stated as required | 53 |
| Depends (weekday vs weekend, group size, which room) | 9 |
| Not stated | 56 |
What the café says about reservations (258 cafés)
Each café page shows this under Before you go → Reservation, with the café's own wording.
Where the booking happens
Japanese cafés rarely use the international booking sites. The usual channels are:
- The café's own website — a calendar or form, often Japanese only. Some use booking systems such as TableCheck, airRESERVE or Coubic; the forms ask for a name (katakana is accepted if you type it), a phone number and an e-mail address.
- LINE — Japan's main messaging app. Several cafés take bookings only through their official LINE account. You need the app and to add the café as a friend.
- Phone — some cafés take same-day bookings only by phone, in Japanese.
- Japanese booking marketplaces — 45 cafés on this site are listed on Jalan (じゃらん), a Japanese activity site; a few use Asoview or Hot Pepper. These sites are in Japanese and usually need a Japanese account.
We show a "Bookable on Jalan (JP)" tag where it applies. We do not take bookings ourselves.
When slots open and when they close
A handful of cafés state when their calendar opens — for example 60 days ahead at midnight, or one month ahead. Where a café says so, it is shown as Slots open on the café page (6 cafés at the moment). Same-day booking rules vary: some accept it only by phone, some only in person at the door.
Last entry and rest times
111 cafés state a last entry time, typically 30 to 60 minutes before closing. Arriving after it means you will not get in even if the café is still open. Some cafés also close the animal room for a rest break in the afternoon; the café page shows the day's hours including breaks.
Cancellation
Where a café publishes a cancellation rule, it is in the café's own wording on the café page. Rules we see include a charge for same-day cancellation, no refunds within three days of a pre-paid booking, and a booking cancelled if you arrive more than 10–15 minutes late.
If you cannot read the Japanese page
- Browser translation works for most calendar pages; the fields are usually name (お名前), kana reading (ふりがな/フリガナ — you may type your name in katakana or copy it from a translation app), phone (電話番号), e-mail (メールアドレス), date (日付), number of people (人数).
- Japanese phone-number fields sometimes reject non-Japanese numbers. A Japanese SIM or eSIM number helps here, and a data connection lets you open the booking page or show your confirmation at the door.
- If a café is walk-in only, the simplest plan is to arrive early in the day on a weekday.
Sources: the official websites of the cafés listed on Fureai Japan, copied on the dates shown on each café page; counts as of 21 October 2026. The booking categories in the table are read by a script from the reservation text on each official site, then checked by hand; the café page always shows the original wording. Booking channels named above are those the cafés themselves name.